Warning!  There have been reports of a scam centered on GPD Detective John Madsen of the Internet Crimes Against Children Task Force.  A caller will contact a person over the phone, identify themselves as Detective John Madsen and tell them that they have been identified in a child pornography scheme and that they must wire money to him to stop the investigation.  GPD will NEVER contact anyone over the phone for money.  Please report any activity such as this to GPD Dispatch, 352-955-1818.

Internet Crimes Against Children Task Force

The Gainesville Police Department is proud to be the host agency for The North Florida Internet Crimes Against Children Task Force (ICAC).  ICAC was established in 2003 and is funded by federal grants authorizing the Gainesville Police Department to act as the host agency for the northern 38 counties of Florida. 

The purpose of the grant is to provide local law enforcement agencies with the funding necessary to combat the online exploitation and solicitation of children. As these types of crimes do not often result in 911 calls for service, funding at local levels is rarely devoted solely to such investigations. 

The purpose of the Task Force is to create a cooperative environment between all law enforcement agencies that operate within the member agencies' jurisdiction. On a regular basis municipal, county, state, and federal authorities employ their combined resources in joint investigations, made possible by the network created by this Task Force. In addition to human resources, the cooperation between Task Force affiliates provides opportunity for computer examinations for those agencies which otherwise do not have that option. 

In addition to federal agencies such as the Federal Bureau of Investigation, Immigration & Customs Enforcement, and US Postal Inspection Service, the Task Force is also comprised of state agencies such as the Florida Department of Law Enforcement and the Office of the Attorney General. 

The following counties are within the North Florida ICAC Task Force area of responsibility: Alachua, Baker, Bay, Bradford, Brevard, Calhoun, Clay, Columbia, Dixie, Escambia, Flagler, Franklin, Gadsden, Gilchrist, Gulf, Hamilton, Holmes, Jackson, Duval, Jefferson, Lafayette, Leon, Levy, Liberty, Madison, Marion, Nassau, Okaloosa, Putnam, Santa Rosa, St. Johns, Suwannee, Taylor, Union, Volusia, Wakulla, Walton, and Washington.